Small Churches Photographed by Kevin Bauman

 

Kevin Bauman photography small churches

A large part of the irony to Kevin Bauman’s series on ‘Small Churches’ is that they are exactly that. Small. The idea of a church, congers thoughts of palace like structures and grand cathedrals. Buildings whose lavish golden interiors are there, to act as the earthy embodiment of the divine and the conduit connecting worshippers to it. Bauman’s churches are the opposite and possibly more honest as a result. These houses of worship are quite literally, former houses or old stores, some are converted workshops but all are run down or abandoned. Often the only signifier distinguishing the building from its own past is the presence of a crudely painted sign and its promise of refuge.

Kevin Bauman is a Denver based photographer specializing in architectural, interior, and industrial photography. Kevin’s photography has been featured in a number of exhibitions and has had his work appeared in numerous journals and publications including The New York Times. Besides his professional practice, Bauman is best known for his personal documentary projects such as 100 Abandoned Houses series.

Kevin Bauman photography small churches

Kevin Bauman photography small churches

kevin_bauman_photography

Kevin Bauman photography small churches

Kevin Bauman photography small churches

Kevin Bauman photography small churches

kevin_bauman_photography

Kevin Bauman photography small churches

This post was contributed by photographer Paul Batt.


 
  1. #1 by Philomena on september 15, 2012 - 7:54 pm

    I have noticed that in unwanted cameras, extraordinary detectors help to maintain focus automatically.
    Those sensors with some video cameras change in in the area of contrast,
    while others work with a beam involving infra-red (IR) light,
    especially in low lighting. Higher standards cameras often
    use a combination of both systems and could have Face Priority AF where the digital camera
    can ‘See’ the face while focusing only on that.
    Thank you for sharing your ideas on this website.

  2. #2 by Russ on september 19, 2012 - 12:31 pm

    Hi, Neat post. There’s an issue together with your website in internet explorer, might check this… IE still is the market leader and a big component of folks will omit your excellent writing because of this problem.

  3. #3 by Merissa on september 19, 2012 - 1:58 pm

    F*ckin’ awesome things here. I am very glad to see
    your article. Thanks a lot and i’m looking forward to contact you. Will you kindly drop me a e-mail?

  4. #4 by Roger on oktober 4, 2012 - 7:40 pm

    Hey I am so delighted I found your blog, I really found
    you by accident, while I was researching on Digg for something else, Regardless I am here now
    and would just like to say many thanks for a remarkable post
    and a all round thrilling blog (I also love the
    theme/design), I don’t have time to read through it all at the
    moment but I have book-marked it and also included your RSS feeds, so
    when I have time I will be back to read much more, Please do keep up the excellent job.

  5. #5 by Arlen on oktober 5, 2012 - 10:26 pm

    Thanks a lot for providing individuals with remarkably wonderful chance to check tips from this
    blog. It is often very pleasurable and as well , jam-packed with fun for me personally and my office co-workers
    to search your blog at a minimum three times in a week
    to study the newest items you have got. And definitely, I am always impressed with
    your extraordinary knowledge you give. Selected two facts in this posting are particularly the most beneficial we have all had.

  6. #6 by Mckinley on oktober 6, 2012 - 4:53 pm

    Awsome post and right to the point. I am not sure if this is really
    the best place to ask but do you folks have any thoughts on where to employ some
    professional writers? Thanks in advance 🙂

  7. #7 by Leonie on oktober 9, 2012 - 1:45 pm

    Really Appreciate this article, can I set it up so I get an update sent in an email whenever
    you make a fresh update?

  8. #8 by Niklas on oktober 13, 2012 - 5:08 pm

    I like what you guys are up too. Such smart work and reporting!
    Carry on the excellent works guys I’ve incorporated you guys
    to my blogroll. I think it’ll improve the value of my web site 🙂

  9. #9 by Jim on december 1, 2012 - 1:22 am

    Excellent site. Plenty of useful info here. I’m sending it
    to a few friends ans also sharing in delicious. And certainly, thanks for your effort!

  10. #10 by Sharyl on december 6, 2012 - 8:42 pm

    Wow that was unusual. I just wrote an very long comment but after I clicked submit my comment didn’t appear. Grrrr… well I’m not writing all that over
    again. Anyway, just wanted to say excellent blog!

  11. #11 by Lenard on december 23, 2012 - 12:50 am

    As I web site possessor I believe the content
    material here is rattling great , appreciate it for your efforts.

    You should keep it up forever! Good Luck.

  12. #12 by Bonuses on marts 9, 2013 - 10:22 pm

    Hey There. I discovered your blog the usage of msn.
    This is a really smartly written article. I’ll make sure to
    bookmark it and come back to learn more of your useful
    information. Thank you for the post. I’ll certainly comeback.

  13. #13 by Read the Full Document on april 23, 2013 - 8:46 am

    Everything is very open with a really clear description of the issues.
    It was truly informative. Your site is useful. Thank
    you for sharing!

Skriv en kommentar