Protect What’s Behind You by Ernest Zacharevic and Toyota

  

photo © Toyota

The independence and power that driving bestows on our everyday lives, also comes with great responsibility. As we travel through the arteries of any city chasing our dreams, we must be aware of the challenges we face every time we step inside a car. In an effort to bring awareness and light to some of these challenges, Toyota teamed up with its communication partner,Happiness Brussels and world renowned street Lithuanian artist Ernest Zacharevic, to attract attention to the fact that a simple rearview camera can help avoid accidents whilst reversing.

In our busy lives and ‘always in a hurry’ attitude, we often feel that reversing a car can be a tense experience. Even with sensors – in itself a great car industry innovation – – the possibility of hitting something or more importantly, someone still exists. Although official figures point to the fact that the damage done is mostly only suffered by vehicles, each year children are also victims of inattention or bad visibility while driving backwards.

photo © Toyota

photo © Toyota

In a Belgian parking lot (Q-Park Lepage), Ernest Zacharevic painted 6 unique street art paintings which were visible to drivers as they reversed. This collection of vignettes acted as a constant reminder to drivers that the risks are there and we must be more cautious in the process of backing our cars into a parking space or driveway.  The design process began with photographing the subjects, then projecting them onto the walls whilst also calibrating the appropriate scale for real life size children. Once size was established, Ernest began to paint the projections on the walls and color them. His painting technique with its accurate flesh tones is very realistic depicting the figures as the driver sees them. Including other elements, Ernest created images portraying children playing naturally. The realistic portrayal enhanced the communication’s effectiveness and the driver’s experience as he or she backs up into the parking spot. The final 6 paintings were accompanied by the following text from Toyota:‘Protect what’s behind you. Drive with a rearview camera.

Toyota does not limit itself to this action and offers the rearview camera standard from the second or third level of equipment rate in most of its cars. Also in the smaller city cars, that are traditionally subject to a lot of maneuvering.’

photo © Toyota

photo © Toyota

photo © Toyota

photo © Toyota

photo © Toyota

photo © Toyota

sources:

Toyota Protect

  1. #1 by Steve on november 5, 2012 - 7:53 pm

    I’m very happy to discover this web site. I wanted to thank you for your time for this fantastic read!! I definitely really liked every part of it and I have you saved to fav to see new things in your web site.

  2. #2 by Elliot on november 20, 2012 - 9:58 am

    Wow, that’s what I was seeking for, what a information! present here at this blog, thanks admin of this site.

  3. #3 by Screwing making love that includes bisexual whore huge dicks big evaluate on december 5, 2012 - 8:40 am

    When I initially commented I clicked the “Notify me when new comments are added” checkbox
    and now each time a comment is added I get four
    e-mails with the same comment. Is there any way you can remove people from that service?

    Bless you!

  4. #4 by פתרון חלומות on december 10, 2012 - 8:55 pm

    Good day! I know this is kinda off topic but I was wondering if
    you knew where I could get a captcha plugin for
    my comment form? I’m using the same blog platform as yours and I’m having difficulty finding one?
    Thanks a lot!

  5. #5 by numerology on december 12, 2012 - 11:19 pm

    Wow that was unusual. I just wrote an incredibly long comment but after I clicked submit my comment
    didn’t show up. Grrrr… well I’m not writing all that over again.
    Anyhow, just wanted to say superb blog!

  6. #6 by rosellaextrem on april 17, 2013 - 9:11 pm

    My partner and I stumbled over here by a different website and thought
    I might as well check things out. I like what I see so i am just following you.
    Look forward to looking into your web page yet again.

  7. #7 by sexual desires on april 23, 2013 - 2:04 am

    Hi, of course this post is in fact nice and I have learned lot of things from it concerning blogging.
    thanks.

  8. #8 by fitness program on maj 1, 2013 - 3:31 am

    Definitely believe that which you said. Your favorite
    justification seemed to be on the web the simplest thing to be aware of.
    I say to you, I certainly get irked while people think about worries that they plainly do not know about.
    You managed to hit the nail upon the top and defined out the whole thing
    without having side effect , people can take a signal.
    Will likely be back to get more. Thanks

  9. #9 by google on juli 23, 2013 - 7:58 pm

    obviously like your website but you have to take a look at the spelling on several of your posts.
    A number of them are rife with spelling problems and I find it very
    bothersome to tell the truth on the other hand I’ll surely come back again.

  10. #10 by Stephany on august 28, 2013 - 8:27 am

    Everyone loves it when folks get together and share thoughts.
    Great site, keep it up!

  11. #11 by Danilo on april 2, 2014 - 1:31 pm

    I visited many blogs however the audio feature for audio songs present at this web site is truly fabulous.

Skriv et svar

