Maurizio Cattelan at the Guggenheim museum in NYC

This retrospective presentation of Maurizio Cattelan at the guggenheim museum in NYC  is the result of everything the artist has produced since 1989.  Hanging down from the iconic oculus of the Guggenheim’s rotunda are all (as suggested by the title of the exhibit) of Maurizio’s work since 1989. This unconventional arrangement  suspended from the ceiling, as a whole, gives a even more theatrical appearance to the specific installation which celebrates futility which is one of the most prominent messages all across Cattelan’s work.

Italian-born artist Maurizio Cattelan is considered to be one of the most provocative contemporary artists of our time. His controversial work draws on today’s popular culture, history and organized religion in a profound way, injected by doses of humor, in an attempt to lighten the vehement themes at hand. his cultural critique is expressed through disturbingly hyperrealistic sculptures which reveal contradictions inherently apparent at the core of today’s society. Insolent, brutal, fearless are words often heard in describing Cattelan’s work much of which is fueled by his childhood marked by economic hardships at home, punishment at school, employment in a slaughterhouse and other degrading jobs.


The exhibit will be on until January 22 2012. For more information and opening hours, visit themuseum’s website.

  1. #1 by nageldesign ausbildung oldenburg on juni 12, 2013 - 6:44 pm

    Hi there, just became alert to your blog through
    Google, and found that it is really informative.
    I’m going to watch out for brussels. I will be grateful if you continue this in future.

    A lot of people will be benefited from your writing. Cheers!

  2. #2 by Art on juni 14, 2013 - 11:46 am

    Hey excellent website! Does running a blog such as this take a large amount
    of work? I have no knowledge of coding but I was hoping to start my own blog soon.
    Anyway, should you have any suggestions or techniques for new blog owners
    please share. I understand this is off topic but I simply wanted to ask.
    Thanks a lot!

  3. #3 by dampfreiniger on juni 14, 2013 - 7:12 pm

    I love what you guys tend to be up too. This sort of clever work and exposure!
    Keep up the excellent works guys I’ve incorporated you guys to my own blogroll.

  4. #4 by dörrautomat on juni 17, 2013 - 11:13 pm

    Hmm it appears like your site ate my first comment (it was extremely long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I wrote and say, I’m thoroughly
    enjoying your blog. I as well am an aspiring blog blogger but I’m still new to the whole thing. Do you have any points for inexperienced blog writers? I’d genuinely appreciate
    it.

  5. #5 by http://journals.fotki.com/mamiebcb/mamiebcb/entry/gqsrbftdqwgw on juni 18, 2013 - 7:57 pm

    Hi, yup this article is in fact fastidious and I have learned lot of things from it on the topic of blogging.
    thanks.

Skriv et svar

