Graffiti painted world war II military planes


‘untitled’ by nunca, 2011,
spray paint on dc3 aircraft

all images © eric firesone 

the boneyard project: return trip
pima air and space museum, tucson, arizona, USA
january 28th, 2012 until may 31st, 2012

the pima air + space museum (PIMA) is hosting ‘art from the boneyard’, a project curated by eric firestone, carlo mccormick,
leslie oliver and med sobio featuring several non-functioning WWII american military airplanes covered in the painted work
of contemporary artists. in ‘art from the boneyard: return trip’, how & nosm, retna, andrew shoultz, faile, and nunca, among
other creatives, journeyed to a ‘bone yard’, a large resting space for planes in disuse, in order to complete the five massive
mural paintings on the bodies of retired aircrafts.

the tradition of using the massive surface of a plane as a canvas has been a tradition in the united states air force for generations.
‘nose art’ became a popular form of graffiti painting in the WWII era as soldiers decorated the fronts of the planes which would
carry them into battle. ‘the boneyard project: return trip’ is the second installation of the series in which the artists created
a semi-sculptural, painted expression of his/her associations with the history of air travel and warfare.


detailed view of ‘untitled’ by nunca


alternate view of ‘untitled’ by nunca


‘warning shot’ by retna, 2011,
ink and spray paint on dc3 aircraft


‘warning shot’ by retna


detailed view of ‘warning shot’ nose by retna


bast’s work in progress


‘naughty angels’ by faile, 2012
acrylic on c45 aircraft


additional view of ‘naughty angels’ by faile


‘flying tiger’ by andrew schoultz, 2012
acrylic on aircraft


andrew schoultz work in progress


‘flying tiger’ by andrew schoultz, 2012
acrylic on aircraft


‘time flies by’ by how and nosm, 2011
spray paint on dc3 aircraft


additional view of ‘time flies’ by how and nosm

  1. #1 by Boyd on september 18, 2012 - 7:27 pm

    I think this is among the most significant info for me.

    And i’m glad reading your article. But wanna remark on some general things, The web site style is perfect, the articles is really excellent : D. Good job, cheers

  2. #2 by how to lose Weight Fast in a week on november 1, 2012 - 12:20 pm

    Not only provide you lose that weight, but the software opens up steps for quicker belly fat loss after it.

    There are countless requirements why someone will want lose weight in a week, combined with it would have years to inquire into
    them all.

  3. #3 by Dorris on januar 10, 2013 - 2:50 am

    It’s genuinely very complex in this active life to listen news on TV, thus I simply use world wide web for that purpose, and get the latest news.

  4. #4 by Bouncing Tits on februar 12, 2013 - 6:44 am

    Do you mind if I quote a couple of your posts as long as I provide credit and sources back to
    your blog: http://likeellebelle.wordpress.com/2012/02/08/graffiti-painted-world-war-ii-military-planes/.
    I most certainly will aslo ensure to give you the proper
    anchor text link using your webpage title: Graffiti painted world war II military planes R U M T O
    S S E T. Please make sure to let me know if this is ok with you.

    Thank you

  5. #5 by Aisha on februar 12, 2013 - 6:49 am

    Hi! This is the second time visiting now and
    I just wanted to say I truley fancy looking at your blogging site.
    I’ve decided to bookmark it at stumbleupon.com with the title: Graffiti painted world war II military planes R U M T O S S E T and your Domain name: http://likeellebelle.wordpress.com/2012/02/08/graffiti-painted-world-war-ii-military-planes/. I hope this is fine with you, I’m trying
    to give your good blog a bit more visibility.
    Be back shortly.

  6. #6 by http://www.stringroom.com on marts 9, 2013 - 9:26 am

    Fantastic blog! Do you have any recommendations for aspiring writers?
    I’m hoping to start my own site soon but I’m a little lost
    on everything. Would you propose starting with
    a free platform like WordPress or go for a paid option?
    There are so many choices out there that I’m completely confused .. Any suggestions? Cheers!

  7. #7 by Chicks Clothing on marts 10, 2013 - 1:21 pm

    Hi I am so grateful I found your blog page, I really found you by mistake, while I was browsing on DuckDuckGo for something else, Anyways I am here
    now and would just like to say many thanks
    for a marvelous post and a all round entertaining blog (I also
    love the theme/design), I don’t have time to browse it all at the moment but I
    have saved it and also added your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will
    be back to read a lot more, Please do keep up
    the superb work.

  8. #8 by extreme bikini Clothing on marts 19, 2013 - 3:58 pm

    Hi there your web site url: http://likeellebelle.
    wordpress.com/2012/02/08/graffiti-painted-world-war-ii-military-planes/ seems to be redirecting to a completely different web-site when
    I click the homepage button. You may want
    to have this checked.

  9. #9 by Sanford on juni 17, 2013 - 2:16 pm

    Excellent web site you’ve got here.. It’s difficult to find excellent
    writing like yours these days. I honestly appreciate individuals like you!
    Take care!!

  10. #10 by and how to host a website on juni 21, 2013 - 9:54 am

    Hello there, I discovered your blog by way of Google
    whilst looking for a comparable topic, your website got here up, it seems to be good.
    I have bookmarked it in my google bookmarks.

    Hi there, simply turned into aware of your blog through Google, and found that it is really informative.
    I am going to be careful for brussels. I’ll be grateful if you happen to continue this in future. Numerous people can be benefited out of your writing. Cheers!

  11. #11 by Guillermo on juli 10, 2013 - 6:44 pm

    Do you mind if I quote a couple of your posts as long as
    I provide credit and sources back to your weblog?
    My blog site is in the exact same niche as yours and my visitors would genuinely benefit from a lot
    of the information you provide here. Please let
    me know if this okay with you. Many thanks!

  12. #12 by China Southern Airlines Flight Attendee on august 3, 2013 - 2:56 pm

    Currently it looks like BlogEngine is the best blogging platform
    out there right now. (from what I’ve read) Is that what you’re using on your blog?

Skriv et svar

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Slut dig til de 86, der følger denne blog